top of page
Untitled design-23.png

Diamond details

The 4 C's of Diamond:
Carat, Colour, Clarity, Cut
Untitled design-23.png


Carat indicates a diamond's weight. One carat unit equals 0.2 grams or 0.007 ounces. It also divides into 100 points. This gradation aims to ease the diamond's measurement. 

Untitled design-23.png


A diamond is often cut, shaped, and polished.  A cut diamond usually features fifty eight facets, and a decently cut one can outshine bigger and brighter ones.  Cut also has its gradation, ranging from Excellent, Very Good, Good and Poor.


Aside from cut quality, there is also the shape of a diamond:


  • Round Brilliant Cut (RBC)

  • Cushion Cut

  • Oval Cut

  • Asscher Cut

  • Princess Cut

  • Emerald Cut

  • Pear Cut

  • Marquise Cut

  • Heart Cut

  • Radiant Cut

Diamond cut
Untitled design-23.png

March birthstone:


Untitled design-23.png


Excavated diamonds naturally come within two main colour conditions: colourful (fancy) or colourless. The colourful diamonds are extremely rare and have their own gradations.

Colourless diamonds also called "White" have alphabetical gradation, which starts from D (the most transparent diamonds) and ends with Z (diamonds with a deep yellow tint):  

  • D. As mentioned before, D diamonds are the most transparent colourless ones;

  • E-F. It is highly unlikely for people to spot the difference between D, E or F with a naked eye;

  • G-J. This scale of diamonds has a barely visible yellow tone;

  • K-M. A tint of yellow is noticeable on these diamonds;

  • O-Z. The yellow tone is obvious here.

Untitled design-23.png


Clarity includes several points: imperfections, quantity, location, size, etc.  The gradation starts from Flawless to Imperfect:

  • (FL) Flawless clarity. Blemishes are absent, and brilliance is excellent. Diamonds with Flawless clarity are quite rare and therefore most sought after.

  • (IF) Internally Flawless clarity. No human eye can recognize the difference between FL and IF qualities. Under its 10x magnification, one can spot a few minor imperfections. Internally Flawless diamonds are more common than FLs.

  • (VVS1, VVS2) Very Very Slightly Imperfect clarity.  These have minor imperfections, which are only visible under a 10x loupe.  

  • (VS1, VS2) Very Slightly Imperfect clarity. The surface is not very clear, and one can spot a few blemishes without any magnification. 

  • (SI1, SI2) Slightly Imperfect clarity.  The imperfections may be visible

Diamond clarity
bottom of page